Review: Point of Retreat (Slammed #2) by Colleen Hoover

September 21, 2012 § 1 Comment

Rating: 5 Stars!

I know how much I love a book series when I simply must read the next installment right after I’ve finished the first. Point of Retreat was such a case. As soon as I finished Slammed, I literally opened up the next book and dove right into it.

Point of Retreat follows on more than a year after the end of Slammed and we see Lake and Will’s relationship evolve around conflict that neither of them has control over. We have the same wonderful cast with some bright new additions (Kiersten and her mother Sherry in particular) and some faces from Will’s past that are not so bright and welcome.

Spoilers behind the Read More!

So, PoR has two plot twists – the first behind Vaughn, Will’s blast from the past and the ensuing chaos she instigates when they end up having classes together in college. Reece, Will’s best friend of ten-ish years also makes an appearance. The second plot twist that happens in the latter part of the book involves a serious car accident in the snow that leaves Eddie (who is sixteen weeks pregnant) and Will hurt and Lake severely injured in hospital.

To the first plot-hurdle: Vaughn and Reece. I hated Vaughn on the spot, that manipulative, coy bitch. And poor Will, did he really think that hiding Vaughn’s reappearance in his life would help his precarious relationship with Lake any? Nope. I always tell myself that if you have something to hide, there’s gotta be a reason for it. Not just “I didn’t think it was important”. Screw that. Will may not have been in love with Vaughn any more, but he owed it to Lake to be honest and upfront. Fair enough, he may as well have really been planning on telling her after their 3-day getaway, but we won’t ever know.

Lake really upset me after Vaughn broke up the dinner at Will’s house. Her consequent actions were infuriating, but you know what? I completely understood where she was coming from. She’s a 19 year old girl, who did act immaturely with all the silence and avoidance and petty arguements, but she also thought logically toward their relationship. I mean really put a lot of thought into it, she acted the adult.

Will on the other hand, was acting the lovestruck fool. But who could blame him? His actions and decisions were governed by a bunch of 11 year-olds who gave better advice than any of his friends. That and he was in love. Like unhooking Lake’s car battery? I thought it was immature. And petty. And pure genius. Pity that plan didn’t work out so well.

Will’s slam where he bares all and convinces Lake that he really does love her for her was gorgeous. Had me gushing and squealing. Simply magnificent!

The next plot-hurdle: the crash.

It was heartbreaking. I knew this book was a keeper when I realised that the crash didn’t just happen to ensure that Will knows he’s in love with Lake. I’ve read too many books that incorporate an almost-loss-of-life scenario where one half of the relationship suddenly dives face-first into future-cementing decisions to ensure they never lose that person again. And fair enough, this happened in PoR too, but the way it was written?

Damn, it was written right.

Will’s journal entries that preceded each chapter was absolutely beautiful. It provided insight into Will’s mind, his worries and his humor shone through like a flashlight in a tunnel.

“Get out, Get out, get out, get out!” I do what any sane male would do in this situation; I run down the hall and lock myself in her bedroom.”

 

Absolutely adored these entries and they’re now among my favourite quotes. Example:

“If I were a carpenter, I would build you a window to my soul. But I would leave that window shut and locked, so that every time you tried to look through it all you would see is your own reflection. You would see that my soul is a reflection of you.”

SO beautiful!

The hospital scenes, from the heartbreaking suspense of getting no news, to agonising over whether or not Lake would make it… written with pure brilliance. I could feel Will’s despair, shared it with him. And the unbearable elation Will felt when Lake was finally awake? I was crying my eyes out.

Another thing I simply loved about PoR was that nothing about it was traditional. There’s so many aspects of the book that I could rave about, but it was original – at least to me. Their untraditional wedding, their vows and honeymoon: just beautiful.

I adored every aspect of this book, I could gush for a long time!

Definitely worthy of 5 Stars!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Review: Point of Retreat (Slammed #2) by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Point of Retreat (Slammed #2) by Colleen Hoover at elaine reads.

meta