Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

September 21, 2012 § Leave a comment

Rating: 5 Stars + The Golden Bookshelf!!!

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once.”

This book… oh dear lord. This book. Absolutely destroyed me. Deeply moving and thoughtful, this is a book that will resonate.

I can’t even think about The Fault in Our Stars without my hands shaking and my stomach cramping. It was that good. I cried non-stop in the last half of the book, and I felt inexplicably exhausted after I had finished. The Fault in Our Stars definitely put me on an emotional rollercoaster (more like threw me into an emotional meat grinder). I absolutely loved the narrative voice of Hazel – so cynical, like all 16 year olds should be.

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book. And then there are books like An Imperial Affliction, which you can’t tell people about, books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like betrayal”

That’s exactly how I feel with this book! It’s like my heart was bleeding right there on the pages!

I’ve never read a book like it – where our protagonists are in the danger zone between life and death. I’ve never read a “dying” book. This was my first, and as firsts go, I’ll always remember it.

Spoilers under the Read More!

I fell head over heels in love with Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace. Their story was so heartbreaking, and their love was just so damn sweet. Now there is a love that was borne from pure emotional and mental connection, so beautiful that it leaves me breathless. It physically hurts me to think about their relationship, that they never got a chance and that Augustus’ lot in life was just so shit. Jesus.

The absolute unfairness of life hit me in the face with this book. I mean – how can such a sweet and pure love, a love that surely deserves to thrive, be shot down so suddenly and with such cruelty? With such helplessness as terminal diseases? It was just so heartbreaking.

And the chemistry between Hazel Grace and Augustus! And the fact that they were literally given time limits on their lives. UGH and Augustus falling ill again!

THAT BROKE MY HEART.

The banter, flirting and deep and meaningful conversations Hazel and Augustus had together are indescribable to me. Theirs was a relationship that, if given the chance, would last forever. A truly unconditional love because they’d already been through hell and back.

About 70% into the book, I was suddenly afraid that John Green would follow his fictional novel that Hazel was intrigued with in the book, An Imperial Affliction, and cut off the book suddenly – to signify that Hazel was no longer healthy or alive to continue her tale. Thank god he didn’t. I would have hunted him down if he had.

In my head, Hazel Grace and Augustus are magically cured. And that they get to receive their HEA. And that they grow and mature into upstanding adults and are given the chance to explore life without illness, for the possibility of a future, for a future with children. This book affected me so deeply, it made me think differently about the way I see life, the way I consider some moments to be fleeting and others to be an infinity.

“I’m in love with you,” he said quietly.

“Augustus,” I said.

“I am,” he said. He was staring at me, and I could see the corners of his eyes crinkling. “I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”

I love this book.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green at elaine reads.

meta