Showcase Sunday: Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

October 9, 2012 § 4 Comments

Hello and welcome to Showcase Sunday. Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here.

 

I know I’m late, and technically it’s Tuesday night, but I thought I’d share what I’ve recently bought and what I plan to read for the next week.

So, I’ve finally hopped onto the Jennifer L. Armentrout bandwagon! Late, I know, I know – but better late than never. I bought Half-Blood a few days ago and haven’t had the time to do much more than read the first handful of chapters but wowzah! It’s darn great so far and I’m yearning to find some quiet down time for me to really get stuck into the book.

The premise of Half-Blood (the basics that I know, that is) kind of reminds me of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, which I loved. I really enjoy fantasy stories that include mythology about gods and legends. I’ve also bought Armentrout’s first installment of the Lux series and so I have Obsidian waiting for me as well. Wish life would give me some slack sometime so I can hole up in my room to read! *Shakes fist*

I tried to get back into reading American Gods which has been on my TBR list for so long, but the story just isn’t sucking me in. I tried to read Flat-Out Love because I’d heard such great things about it, but the first few chapters are crucial for me. I guess I really have to push myself to hit my 100-page barrier, huh?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Showcase Sunday: Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  • Jennifer L. Armentrout is so popular among my Twitter friends! I haven’t read her books yet but I hope you’ll enjoy this series!

  • I am a huge fan of Armentrout’s books. They’re almost guilty pleasures for me as they’re full of traits I usually don’t enjoy. I think her romances are the best. 😉

  • elena says:

    I hope you enjoy Half-Blood! I think Good Omens took me a bit to get into but I really liked it. 🙂

  • ayleeargh says:

    I have yet to jump on this bandwagon, myself, but good grief it seems like everyone else has! The author has a ton of really devoted fans and that alone makes me curious about her books. I have heard that Half-Blood’s concept is apparently VERY similar to Vampire Academy’s (another series I haven’t read…) so a lot of people were disappointed with that.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Showcase Sunday: Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout at elaine reads.

meta