Review: Archangel’s Storm by Nalini Singh

October 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

Star Rating:

Date released: 13th September 2012
Publisher: Berkeley Sensation
Author’s website: http://nalinisingh.com/
My source: Amazon Kindle Store
Part of a series: #5 in Guild Hunter series
Find it at: GoodReads | Amazon | B&N

GoodReads Synopsis

With wings of midnight and an affinity for shadows, Jason courts darkness. But now, with the Archangel Neha’s consort lying murdered in the jewel-studded palace that was his prison and her rage threatening cataclysmic devastation, Jason steps into the light, knowing he must unearth the murderer before it is too late.

Earning Neha’s trust comes at a price—Jason must tie himself to her bloodline through the Princess Mahiya, a woman with secrets so dangerous, she trusts no one. Least of all an enemy spymaster.

With only their relentless hunt for a violent, intelligent killer to unite them, Jason and Mahiya embark on a quest that leads to a centuries-old nightmare… and to the dark storm of an unexpected passion that threatens to drench them both in blood.

What I loved:

  • Jason. He’s always been one of my favourites among the Seven (scratch that, they’re all pretty fantastic) and this story highlighted his awesome factor. There’s just something so forbidden about him and that level of intelligence paired with the stealth that he carries like an extension of his body is very alluring.
  • The wedding and subsequent scenes with Honor and Dmitri. It was a great to come almost full-circle and see the continuation of their story, considering that at the end of Archangel’s Blade (Dmitri’s story) it felt like it was cut off abruptly – happily, but abruptly.
  • The level of intrigue in Neha’s court.
  • Nalini Singh can write. Her language is beautiful, lyrical and so bittersweet at times. I see Singh as the cook who can make creme brulee out of egg shells, she’s magical.

What didn’t work for me:

  • Mahiya. Sorry girlfriend, I may be the possessive book-girl/fan-friend of Jason, but I thought his love would be extraordinary.
  • The plotline and ‘twist’ with Mahiya’s family. I can’t say I didn’t expect it because I saw it coming a mile away. Also, after the epic battle between the sisters, I fully expected something tremendous to happen, but all the story details after that point is Mayiha’s getaway to New York. I mean… I felt like the story was cut short, and that it spent too much time laying foundation rather than having things happen.
  • Jason and Mahiya’s romance and relationship. For some reason, I felt it was very… sterilized, like I was touching with gloves. I didn’t feel the same amount of ebb-and-flow surges of passion like I did with the other Guild Hunter books.

Other Thoughts:

… Particularly with the continuation of the series. I think Singh made it very easy for herself to continue writing books in the Guild Hunter series because this particular installment leaves more questions than those answered. What will become of Nivriti and Neha? Will Lijuan play a part in the next book and how will her incorporeal manifestation adapt? What will the Archangels do with the emergence of their new powers, and what will they be?

I can already see power balances shifting with the new powers the Archangels are getting, and I predict that the next book will center on this particular aspect of the books. There will be discontent within the Cadre and I’m sure one Archangel or other will feel slighted, and boom! Out come the powers of epic destruction.

I wonder whose story will be next, however? I’m thinking it’ll either be Illium and a newfound love or the next Raphael and Elena installment. Aodhan seems unlikely, but I would love read Venom’s story.

Overall, a fantastic book that I did not love as expected, but enjoyed all the same. Solid 4 stars!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Archangel’s Storm by Nalini Singh at elaine reads.

meta